Online Resources

 Online Resources

Learn more about contraceptives and birth control:

http://bedsider.org/methods

 

American Academy of Dermatology: http://www.aad.org/

The American Academy of Dermatology is the largest, most influential and most representative dermatology group in the United States.

 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: http://www.cdc.gov/cancer/skin/

CDC leads national efforts to reduce skin cancer through education.

 

David Cornfield Melanoma Fund: http://dcmf.ca/

The DCMF is dedicated to promoting awareness of melanoma and educating on prevention and self detection, and works to provide funds and support for education and research. Their melanoma awareness video, "Dear 16 Year Old Me", went viral using a combination of humor and education to warn against the dangers of tanning and emphasize the importance of regular skin self-exams.

 

Food & Drug Administration:  http://www.fda.gov/Radiation-EmittingProducts/RadiationEmittingProductsandProcedures/Tanning/default.htm

Government agency tasked with protecting the public through regulation and education.

 

Melanoma Awareness: http://www.melanomaawareness.org/index.html

Focused on raising awareness about melanoma risks, causes, and prevention.

 

Melanoma Education Foundation: http://www.skincheck.org/

The Melanoma Education Foundation is a nonprofit organization devoted to saving lives from melanoma, a common skin cancer that is often deadly unless detected early before there are any symptoms.

 

Melanoma Foundation of New England: http://mfne.org/

The Melanoma Foundation of New England aims to reduce the incidence of melanoma in the New England region through educational programs targeting children and adults.

 

Melanoma International Foundation:  http://melanomainternational.org/

An international organization focused on raising public awareness about melanoma risks, causes, and prevention.

 

Melanoma Research Foundation: http://www.melanoma.org/

A nonprofit organization dedicated to funding research to find a cure for melanoma.

 

Medline Plus - Skin Cancer: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/skincancer.html

A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.

 

Medline Plus - Skin Cancer Melanoma: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/melanoma.html

A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.

 

National Council on Skin Care Prevention: http://www.skincancerprevention.org/

Made up of skin cancer researchers and clincians, the National Council on Skin Cancer Prevention aims to reduce skin care diagnosis and mortality rates throughout the U.S. through prevention, research, and advocacy.

 

National Environmental Education Foundation: https://www.neefusa.org/sunwise

The SunWise Program is an environmental and health education program that aims to teach children and their caregivers how to protect themselves from overexposure to the sun.

 

Shade Foundation:  http://www.shadefoundation.org/

Dedicated to eradicating melanoma through the education of children and the community in the prevention and detection of skin cancer and the promotion of sun safety.

 

Skin Cancer Foundation: http://www.skincancer.org/

The Skin Cancer Foundation is the only international organization devoted solely to education, prevention, early detection, and prompt treatment of the world's most common cancer.

 

Skin Smarty Campus: https://www.facebook.com/skinsmartcampus/

Skin Smart Campus is an initiative started by the National Council on Skin Cancer Prevention to stop indorr tanning on college campuses.

 

Spa Finder: http://www.spafinder.com/melanoma

To educate others about melanoma awareness and prevention.

 

Your Skin Is In: http://mfne.org/prevent-melanoma/your-skin-is-in/

An award-winning, educational, pledge - based program from the Melanoma Foundation of New England that encourages teens and young adults to make a personal promise that they will protect the skin they're in.